My Bicycle Trip Across Canada: Day 63: Ceramics

June 29th: Doyles, NL to Corner Brook, NL: 180k

Capture

I killed this day. Biked almost 70 or 80k without a break. Ended up at Helen’s Diner. Waited for Phill for 2 hours. Never showed. Turns out he got some flats and just stopped at the first restaurant he could find.

P1020484

I biked the next 110 with two stops. One after 60k, and then the next when I was 18k outside of town. So hungry!

P1020486

P1020489

Got into Corner Brook and foun the place we’re staying at. We’re staying with a ceramics artist named Michael Flagherty. He’s really cool. Biked across Canada solo doing free bike repairs at art shows. Also went to live on the Grey Islands of FL for 3 months alone, where he made a kiln and then made art.

Mike gave me a book by John Steffler called The Grey Islands. It’s remarkable. It’s a fictionalized version of a trip he did where he lived on the islands alone for a summer. Reading the book. I keep thinking of how similar a lot of our thoughts are, about the journey, the road, the people you meet.

What am I going to do with my life? How can I get all these adventures (climbing, kayaking, cycling) done, and still get a good job. Obviously (?) they probably shouldn’t be so high on my priority list.

I’m excited for Juliane to come to visit. I’m nervous as well. On the one hand I haven’t liked someone this much since Casey or Agatha… but on the other hand she lives in Germany … plus there’s still doubts. There’s always doubts.

We went out to a bar. Met up with Tings and her partner and their Corner Brook host Ryan. Cool guy. I really liked talking to Tings and Kieran (sp?). I keep thinking about Tings. She just seems so cool…

About dontdontoperate

28 year old originally from Barrie, Ontario, Canada. H.B.Sc. from UofT with a major in chemistry and a double minor in philosophy and math. M.Sc. from UofT in physiology and neuroscience. Finished my Ph.D. in biomedical engineering at McMaster in the fall of 2013.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

