My Bicycle Trip Across Canada: Day 55: Slicing Pineapple with Swords and Body Painting at 4am

June 21st: Bristol-Florenceville, NB to Fredericton, NB: 160km

Capture

Phill left in a car early at 7am with Oleg’s friend to Woodstock to get repairs on his wheel. I left at 8am and took the 105, which probably added 30km had I taken the 104.

P1020383

I rode hard and fast. There wasn’t much to do. In Nackawic (?) I stopped, got some groceries, and at on the dock with some younger sun-tanners. I later chatted with them and swam a bit.

P1020386

Hot day. I stopped at the prov. park in Mactaquac; talked with some older ladies there about rehab and autism.

Got into Fredericton around 5pm, tried to buy Phill a new wheel, then got a flat just as I got to Steve [my friend from Ontario]’s sister’s place (Vanessa). I barely saw Vanessa the entire time we stayed there. Once when I was dead tired, another when I was high, and again when I was drunk.

Ness’s roommates were awesome: Jake, Travis, Adele, and Claire (Claire didn’t live there… but she may as well have). They went out that night, and when they came back, they were incredibly loud. Phill and I came out: if you can’t beat ’em, join ’em. What happened next is hard to believe:
– Hula-hooping

P1020388 P1020391

– Two person hula-hooping (me and Travis shirtless)
– Body painting and then subsequent washing off (with the good soap [that must be an inside joke I now forget])

P1020392

– crab-a-hooping
– [I don’t know how I forgot to include this, but: cutting fruit dropped from a second story balcony with a sword]

P1020389 P1020390

– good apricots! [more inside jokes…]
– charades

P1020399

– cuddling
and finally sleep.

We decided to stay the next day.

About dontdontoperate

28 year old originally from Barrie, Ontario, Canada. H.B.Sc. from UofT with a major in chemistry and a double minor in philosophy and math. M.Sc. from UofT in physiology and neuroscience. Finished my Ph.D. in biomedical engineering at McMaster in the fall of 2013.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

