My Bicycle Trip Across Canada: Day 43: The Kindness of Strangers

June 9th: North Bay, ON to Pineview Campground: 130km

Capture

Went about 45km and hit a town called Bonfield. We got food and some guy ended up paying for it for us. Then some other guy said he wanted to do the same, so he bought us sandwiches to go. Amazing! We also got interviewed for the local newspaper.

P1020233 P1020232

Things/adventures I’m thinking of doing: [note: due to this trip, Phill and I were pretty adventure crazy… I remember I wrote this at a grocery store while I was waiting for Phill. Of the 7 things I list, I have accomplished 3 (Randonneuring a full series (200, 300, 400, 600 brevets), a full marathon, and a half-Ironman triathlon)]
– Kayak the west coast: Alaska to tip of SA
– Bike/kayak from Hamilton to Thessalon where I would tow the kayak, and paddle from the Bruce Peninsula, to Manitoulin Island, and around, and then bike to Thessalon
– Randonneuring: 200, 300, 400 and 600. Get Andrew involved [I managed to get my friend Andrew to do a 320km bike ride with me. While technically not a brevet, it was essentially the same thing]
– Marathon
– Triathlon
– Iron Man (?)
– Bike/climbing trip in SE Asia (definitely Thailand)

Rest of the day was rolling hills. I was bored and annoyed. The bugs were awful. Ottawa river is nice though.

P1020234

We’re staying at Pineview Campground.

About dontdontoperate

28 year old originally from Barrie, Ontario, Canada. H.B.Sc. from UofT with a major in chemistry and a double minor in philosophy and math. M.Sc. from UofT in physiology and neuroscience. Finished my Ph.D. in biomedical engineering at McMaster in the fall of 2013.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

