My Bicycle Trip Across Canada: Day 21: Lauren Mann and the Fairly Odd Folk

May 18th: Moose Jaw, SK to Regina, SK: 73km

Larry made us omelets in the morning and Glenda sent us off with lunches.

Short day. Was supposed to go to Indian Head, but Phill had enough so we decided to stop in Regina (70km?) [I should note what did it in for Phill that day: we biked onto a shoulder or information off ramp thing, and then to get back on the main road, we cut a shortcut through this patch of mud. Phill got the worst of it, and it mud gunked up his whole bike: wheels, brakes, everything. I, being oblivious, kept riding, then waited under a bridge for him.]

P1020010
I forgot what this guys name was, but he was a large man, and unbelievably fast. I couldn’t keep up with him for the life of me.

We’ve taken up a room in a hostel, and I’m out for Thai by myself right now [this must have been when I wrote the other two journal entries]. Going out for drinks tonight.

P1020017
Phill got us donuts. What a guy!

Went to a place called Ohalan’s with Brittany and Jordan (B is the Hostel concierge and Jordan was staying at the Hostel, driving from Montreal to Banff.)

There was a band called Lauren Mann and the Fairly Odd Folk playing. They were quite good. I drank a bunch and tried to make friends.

P1020019

The headlining band, Royal Canoe, were ok. I was talking to a nice girl before they went on, and when they started playing she disappeared to the front.

I went home about 1am.

About dontdontoperate

28 year old originally from Barrie, Ontario, Canada. H.B.Sc. from UofT with a major in chemistry and a double minor in philosophy and math. M.Sc. from UofT in physiology and neuroscience. Finished my Ph.D. in biomedical engineering at McMaster in the fall of 2013.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Bicycle Trip Across Canada: Day 21: Lauren Mann and the Fairly Odd Folk

  1. Chris Sorlie says:

    Hey Alex!
    Love the blog. The photography is great! Keep up the good work. Love to try your LHT some time. Maybe that big fast guy was riding a lighter bike. Who knows??!

  2. Pingback: My Bicycle Trip Across Canada: Day 21: Lauren Mann and the Fairly Odd Folk - SurvivalismUpdates.com

  3. Pingback: My Bicycle Trip Across Canada: Day 21: Lauren Mann and the Fairly Odd Folk - SurvivalismUpdates.com

  4. Phill says:

    1) That day way one of the worst of the trip for me. I had a total meltdown.
    2) The cyclist that we bumped into was SO fast. Dear Lord, he was fast. If I had half of his speed and stamina I’d be a superhero.
    3) The Lauren Mann show was awesome. Great music and the opportunity to socialize. We went to the show with a guy from Quebec who was driving from Sherbrooke to Banff for a fresh start after breaking up with his girlfriend.

  5. Pingback: My Bicycle Trip Across Canada: Day 21: Lauren Mann and the Fairly Odd Folk - SurvivalismUpdates.com

  6. Pingback: My Bicycle Trip Across Canada: Day 21: Lauren Mann and the Fairly Odd Folk - SurvivalismUpdates.com

  7. Pingback: My Bicycle Trip Across Canada: Day 21: Lauren Mann and the Fairly Odd Folk - SurvivalismUpdates.com

Leave a Reply

