My Bicycle Trip Across Canada: Day 7: Tylenol and Coffee

May 4th: Marble Canyon Prov Park, BC to Kamloops, B.C.: 123km; hardest climb: 350m

Screen shot 2013-06-18 at 12.45.46 AM

I found a black pen! [the ink has changed from blue to black] More on that in a minute [I never get back to what the significance is of this black pen]

Woke up at 6? [7:30 is crossed out] and it was raining. Phill commented “looks like we’re staying put today.” We fell back asleep adn the rain had stopped. We packed up starting around 7:30, ate, and were off by 8:50.

P1010791

Mostly downhill till Cashe Creek (about 40km). We passed a man we met the night before who had stayed at Marble Canyon. When we got to highway 97, I saw we had phone service, so we stopped to make some calls [I think I called my mom…]

Just as we’re calling, Brian (the man from Marble Canyon) passes us. He had told us before he was going from Whistler to Banff. He left on May 1st. He walked up Duffy Lake Rd!

P1010794

In Cashe Creek we stopped to buy groceries. Then we rode through about 40km of easy to moderate hills. My ass hurt! We stopped shortly before Savona and got Tylenol.

In Savona we got food (eggs and such) and coffee. I don’t know what kind of amazing combo that is, but I all of a sudden became invincible, and when we started riding again, we immediately had to tackle this big hill. I devoured that hill. At one point going 30k/h up!

P1010801

At the top I talked to some tourists. From there on it was mostly uphill, but I felt great attacking them.

P1010803

Finally got into Kamloops (oh! 16k before we passed Brian who was camping on the side of the road) and found our host Kathy.

P1010805

We found heaven! Chicken, salad, sweet potato fries, and APPLE PIE! We ate so much! Oh! and a beer! yum.

We talked and talked. Did laundry, got showered. So good.

I’m a little sun burned.

Ray, Kathy’s partner, is an avid cyclist and once rode 300k.

Tomorrow, they’ve invited us to go paddling, and Ray offered to fix Philly shitty crank arm [this is the part of the bike that attaches to the bottom bracket and to the peddle. Phill’s had a crack in it and I believe was making some suspicious noises. We were afraid it would break any second.] Yay!

Best. Day. Yet!

About dontdontoperate

28 year old originally from Barrie, Ontario, Canada. H.B.Sc. from UofT with a major in chemistry and a double minor in philosophy and math. M.Sc. from UofT in physiology and neuroscience. Finished my Ph.D. in biomedical engineering at McMaster in the fall of 2013.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Bicycle Trip Across Canada: Day 7: Tylenol and Coffee

  1. Sam says:

    eggs are the best bike fuel. i have your sunglasses.

Leave a Reply

