Feminism, Advertising to Children, and Quebec

Well, it seems I only update this site once every month now. That’s unfortunate, because I feel as though it’s not for lack of things to talk about…more like lack of time or motivation. I’ve been busy with getting back to normal life after the bike trip (which I swear I’ll post about, but that thing will be epically big, which means I will epically avoid doing it), trying to make the most of my time (rock climbing, adventures, seeing friends, etc.), trying to finish my PhD, and procrastinating because it’s hard to finish a PhD.

I’ve been really distracted by the videos on youtube by feministfrequency. Fantastic, fantastic videos. She recently put up a video saying she wanted some donations to do some research and produce some videos about women and video game tropes. Check it out below:

The comments section was quickly taken over by trolls and racist/sexist/crazy people. Maclean’s (surprisingly) and other large magazine/publications reported on the misogyny in the comments, and how it helped spark interest in supporting Anita Sarkeesian’s project. She originally was looking for $6,000 dollars, and is now at almost 7000 backers for a whopping $150,000 donated! …WHAT?! That’s such a great example of the worst and the best of the internet all at once.

Anyways, besides loving her videos, I came upon one recently where she talked about advertising to children, and how it should be banned. I’m not sure yet if I agree, but…I’m definitely leaning towards it. She mentioned that Quebec already has a law, that states that advertising can’t be targeted to children under 13, and that Sweden has a similar law (12, not 13). Watch below:

The reason this in particular sparked my attention is because I’ve recently been really interested in Quebec and it’s politics. Obviously one reason is because they just recently elected their premiere, who is the first female premiere elected in Canada (yet, haven’t we had a female Prime Minister? I should check this shit out [note: I just looked this up: Pauline Marois is the 6th female premier in Canada, but the first for Quebec]). Another is because I’ve been reading Shake Hands With The Devil, and in the beginning Romeo Dallaire describes his youth growing up during the quiet revolution. Plus, Chester Brown’s Louis Riel got me interested in Canadian history and in particular the french part of it. Plus Monsieur Lazhar is my favourite movie from last year (trailer below). I guess what I want to say is I’m slowly being pulled back into my french ‘heritage’/education, and want more of it.

I wish I had more to say, about Quebec separatism and history and such, but really I’m only now learning about these issues, and don’t feel informed enough to share an opinion. But I did want to share with you this new found interest of mine in the subject…

About dontdontoperate

28 year old originally from Barrie, Ontario, Canada. H.B.Sc. from UofT with a major in chemistry and a double minor in philosophy and math. M.Sc. from UofT in physiology and neuroscience. Finished my Ph.D. in biomedical engineering at McMaster in the fall of 2013.
This entry was posted in Ethics, Film, History, Politics, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

