Running…

I got into running a couple of years ago. I started in Toronto, and would just run around Queen’s Park a bunch. I don’t remember how many times. Later on, when I came to Hamilton, I tried to keep up the running. I think I ran maybe 15kms one time, from Westdale to Dundas and back. That was a big deal for me at the time.
Since then, I run a half-marathon back in November 2011:

Just this past Sunday (March 25th), I ran in North America’s oldest road race, a 30kms race around Hamilton bay. It’s called – not surprisingly – Around the Bay.

Here’s my finishing video…I wanted to do a heal kick at the end…it’s hard after running for so long :S

 

I recently watched this cool short doc by The Nature of Things, about how our ancestors, before being able to out-smart our prey, simply out-ran them. It’s an interesting idea…plus Ultra-marathon runners are my heroes. Watch it here.

Finally, has anyone ever heard of Dean Karnazes? Jesus…this guy can run! What? 50 marathons in 50 states, in 50 consecutive days? No problem!

Now I’ve got to decide if I’ll sign up for the full 42.2k marathon in November….

About dontdontoperate

28 year old originally from Barrie, Ontario, Canada. H.B.Sc. from UofT with a major in chemistry and a double minor in philosophy and math. M.Sc. from UofT in physiology and neuroscience. Finished my Ph.D. in biomedical engineering at McMaster in the fall of 2013.
This entry was posted in Film, History, Science, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Running…

  1. Ryan. says:

    First, your bald! Thats new. Second, I started running this spring when it got warm and I could no longer ski, its fun and I can see why you enjoy it, and I think Minden does a 15k which I might join this summer. Also the BBC documentary the Life of Mammals also does a part about how we use to out run our prey, so cool, and I talk about it when I teach about our bodies mechainisms of heat loss (as they are typically much more developed then other mammals).

    • dontdontoperate says:

      What do you think of this whole bare-foot running idea?
      I know that lots of injuries are cause by our current running shoes…but…there is also a new spike in injuries from people trying out this bare-foot thing. That may be just because people are not used to it, and try it without ‘warming’ up to it…
      At least, that’s what I’ve heard through the grape-vine…

  2. Kristina says:

    Enter the marathon, Alex! You can do it! heart heart!

Leave a Reply

