End of Illness – David Agus

Hey, watch this:

It’s this doctor, Dr. Agus, talking about how we need to look at heart disease and cancer (and something else I’m forgetting) differently. He thinks a lot of those kinds of killers have more to do with how we live our lives and inflammation, rather than the typical germ-laden way of looking at medicine.His main messages, which he claims he backs up with primary sources – most of which are double-blind randomized controlled long-term studies (or so he says…I haven’t checked), is that heart disease and cancer and such can be drastically reduced if:

  • we are more active during the day. That means not just exercising every now and then during the week, but never really staying put for more than a few hours. I think he even at one point compares sitting for four hours straight the same as smoking
  • we quit the vitamin supplements. Supposedly they do more harm than good
  • we take baby aspirin every day (it will reduce inflammation…this may only be for people over 50…he’s not clear)
  • we take statins if  you’re over 50 (every day? I don’t recall), which reduce cholesterol (sounds good…actually I’m supposed to get my blood tested for cholesterol soon…)
  • have a routine: go to sleep and wake up at the same times every day
  • finally he talks about data-gathering and data-mining. This makes sense to me: evidence based medicine on a LARGE scale.

Oh here, Maclean’s sums it up quite nicely:

Take statins if you’re over 50, and baby Aspirin, too. Drop the vitamin supplements like they were a lit cigarette. Junk the juicer. If the vegetables at the supermarket aren’t today-fresh, opt for fresh frozen. Wear sensible shoes. Eat lunch and go to bed at the same time every day. Get your flu shot. Move around a lot, even when you aren’t exercising. Digitize your medical records, family history and genetic profile, and store this information on a USB stick. Carry it with you always. Share it, anonymously, with the world.

Read the full article here.

I’m no expert on medicine, but I do like several things that this man is putting forward:

  • a new way at looking at health and health-care
  • evidence based medicine: he’s backing up his claims with well performed studies
  • prevention!
  • and all that stuff about collecting everyone’s info… that would just be too cool

His book is called The End of Illness …maybe I’ll read it someday…after I get through the other 125 books I have on my shelf under ‘to-read’.

About dontdontoperate

28 year old originally from Barrie, Ontario, Canada. H.B.Sc. from UofT with a major in chemistry and a double minor in philosophy and math. M.Sc. from UofT in physiology and neuroscience. Finished my Ph.D. in biomedical engineering at McMaster in the fall of 2013.
This entry was posted in Ethics, Politics, Science and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to End of Illness – David Agus

  1. wartica says:

    Thanks for putting up this video; I got to look into vitamin supplements because I keep hearing they aren’t as good for us, as we once thought. Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:))

    • dontdontoperate says:

      Thanks for commenting!

      • Ryan Mortell says:

        Funny I just read this article today, and now i find out you posted about it! Loved it by the way, maybe I will also look into this “book”. I was unable to look at the video on this computer but will try on a different one another day.

      • dontdontoperate says:

        Hey man! Yeah, it seems like really interesting stuff. I’d like to know what becomes of it…

  2. Pingback: Coronary Artery Bypass Surgery | Dontdontoperate's Blog

Leave a Reply

