Rock climbing, Slacklining, B.A.S.E. Jumping, B.A.S.E. Climbing, B.A.S.E.lining, and Dean Motherfucking Potter

Alright, I’m about to assault you with a barrage of videos that effectively summarizes some of my recent obsessions / shit-I-want-to-get-into (excluded is mountain climbing, cycling, travelling, and volunteering).

First is rock climbing. Here’s a Canadian bouldering competition for 2009/2010:

Tour de Bloc 2009/2010 Finals from omar duragos on Vimeo.

I competed this year for the first time, at the gym (Gravity Rock Climbing Gym) in my city (Hamilton, Ontario) in the Men’s Experienced category (there are three categories I could have signed up for: Recreational, Experienced, and Open). I placed 6th, which I’m happy with.

Next is slacklining. For those of you who have no idea what that is: le wikipedia. Here’s a video from a recent gibbons competition (I’d only watch the first half; I don’t know if I’ll ever compete in one of these…):

Next is something I have no experience in but have always wanted to try: B.A.S.E. jumping. I’ve done a tandem skydive, which was amazing, but the money and steps required to get to the point where you can solo jump off of a building, antennae, span (bridge) or earth (cliff) is at this moment out of my league.

Now, then, the entire purpose of writing this is because I watched some videos of Dean Potter, a world renowned rock climber, who has successfully combined all of these sports. I hate him, and yet idolize him all at once.

Here’s a quick National Geographic video on Dean:

and a longer documentary:

One day…

About dontdontoperate

28 year old originally from Barrie, Ontario, Canada. H.B.Sc. from UofT with a major in chemistry and a double minor in philosophy and math. M.Sc. from UofT in physiology and neuroscience. Finished my Ph.D. in biomedical engineering at McMaster in the fall of 2013.
This entry was posted in Art, Miscellaneous, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rock climbing, Slacklining, B.A.S.E. Jumping, B.A.S.E. Climbing, B.A.S.E.lining, and Dean Motherfucking Potter

  1. mikes barnes says:

    ha, that video of the slacklining competition is one of the funniest things i’ve seen in a while.

Leave a Reply

