I’m Writing a Novel!

I won’t be updating this blog much at all this month, since, as the title suggests, I will be writing a novel…in the span of a month. And by novel I mean 50,000 words (about 288 pages of a paperback). Where would I get such a ludicrous idea from? Glad you should ask. A friend of mine told me about this thing called National Novel Writing Month (or wikipedia’s article), or NaNoWriMo for short. As you can guess, the goal of the project is to write a novel, from scratch, from November 1st to midnight November 30th. My friend asked me to participate because he was saying that it works best in groups. This was back on June 28th, and I tried to figure out the next month I would have time to do such a thing, and July was chosen (I realize this goes against the whole “November” thing, but that month is too far away anyways).

There’s a book (how…appropriate) about it, called “No Plot? No Problem!: A Low-Stress, High-Velocity Guide to Writing a Novel in 30 Days“, if you’re really keen (note: I’m not really keen, but I have read the first page, and it does seem promising).

If I get enough comments on this post (let’s say 5), then I’ll post a section of my novel as a new post. If I get enough comments on that post (5 again), I’ll post another. And so on ad infinitum.

About dontdontoperate

28 year old originally from Barrie, Ontario, Canada. H.B.Sc. from UofT with a major in chemistry and a double minor in philosophy and math. M.Sc. from UofT in physiology and neuroscience. Finished my Ph.D. in biomedical engineering at McMaster in the fall of 2013.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I’m Writing a Novel!

  1. jensorlie says:

    Post it!

  2. mikes says:

    don’t post it!?

  3. fdsajfbgak says:

    POST IT

  4. k t h says:

    your reply counts btw..
    FIVE!

  5. Martina says:

    Post it! I’m writing a novel too, and it will never be posted. It’s too sassy.

  6. dontdontoperate says:

    ok ok! I’ll post…

Leave a Reply

