America…

I have just recently finished reading Noam Chomsky’s excellent “Hegemony or Survival”. Before I very briefly talk about it, and the direction it has taken my interests and thinking, I would first like to use some foresight and qualify this post by saying that I am pathetically ignorant on the following: the current state of affairs, world history (let alone American or Canadian history), politics, the media and journalism, and all that fun stuff.
The book touches on some of the atrocious things that America has done in the past. To name a few: the Cuban missile crisis, military support of Israel, destruction of democratic governments (Latin America, for instance), war in Iraq…
To say the least, I found this to be extremely ‘eye opening’, and has led me to want to know more about world politics and history.
HERE is a youtube playlist of ‘issues raised in Hegemony or Survival’. Great! Now I don’t have to embarrass myself…

An excellent blog I sometimes peruse, This I Believe, has also been instrumental for my recent interest in world politics. A recent blog post of his linked to videos of John Pilger, an Australian journalist and documentary film maker, which shared a lot of the same themes as “Hegemony or Survival”. I strongly suggest everyone check that out.

This finally led to my discovery of a DVD box set of Pilger’s, including some of his best docs. I will try and obtain this box set and watch the aforementioned videos; I plan on sharing my thoughts on each video in future posts. Hurrah!

About dontdontoperate

28 year old originally from Barrie, Ontario, Canada. H.B.Sc. from UofT with a major in chemistry and a double minor in philosophy and math. M.Sc. from UofT in physiology and neuroscience. Finished my Ph.D. in biomedical engineering at McMaster in the fall of 2013.
This entry was posted in History, Politics, Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to America…

  1. Apollo says:

    My first pingback 🙂 Thank you! I thought no one was following so I let it “stroll”. I will update my blog more often now.

    • dontdontoperate says:

      Oh man, you have no idea. I only check/read like, 1 or 2 blogs, and you’re one of them.
      I think there’s one other post that linked to your site as well…
      Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

