Fine. I Admit It: I Think Lady Gaga and Kanye Are Cool

Specifically, I like Kanye because he’s the only rapper that I’ve consistently enjoyed.
For one thing, to this day, I will sometimes catch myself singing “Golddigger”. If that’s not an accomplishment in itself, I don’t know what is. I’ve actually never listened to one of his albums, and don’t plan on it. I’m happy to hear one of his singles every now and then. Another thing that makes me like him is the following two videos:

This video has gone past ‘entertaining’ and entered full blown artistic vision.

and this one, which isn’t a music video, but a short film (as above, both were directed by Spike Jonze):
1st part

2nd part

Look into that gremlin’s face, and tell you me you don’t feel for him. Cute little guy.

Finally, if you ask me, his whole debacle at the MTV music awards was completely warranted. I say this simply because the Beyonce video really was the best female video (even though it was a rip off), and it did end up winning the best video later on (yes, Kanye should have waited). But to his defense, the Taylor Swift video was stale, dull, old, and added nothing new to the music video canon. If she really did deserve to win, then the competition must have been tame.

As for Lady Gaga, I just think she’s cool because she has made hyper-catchy songs, and has (perhaps due to her wickedly ugly face) attempted to make weird cool. Her videos really are messed up (well, not like old school NIN messed up, but there’s only so much I can ask for in a pop star), and I love her for that.

There. I’ve confessed my sins: I can like pop music/culture like everyone else.

About dontdontoperate

28 year old originally from Barrie, Ontario, Canada. H.B.Sc. from UofT with a major in chemistry and a double minor in philosophy and math. M.Sc. from UofT in physiology and neuroscience. Finished my Ph.D. in biomedical engineering at McMaster in the fall of 2013.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous, Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

