Vonnegut!

Two exciting things:
1. While putting away a book I just finished reading, I went about organizing my book shelf (as I am prone to do) and was in my Vonnegut section when I discovered that I had put one of his short story collections away, in the ‘read’ pile, when in reality I had not finished the stories. Oh happy day! New Vonnegut for me to read! (the book is ‘Bagombo Snuff Box’)
I steadfastly put the book in my washroom. This may seem odd to most, but I challenge anyone to read ‘Welcome to the Monkey House’ on the crapper and not feel like it was the most productive part of your day.
2. I found a note in the book. I do not recognize it. I now wonder the following: a) who wrote it?; b) to whom was it written?; c) was it written to me and I just don’t remember it?; d) what was the ekey for?; e) what kind of job or duty did this person have the required the use of an ekey, and not just any ekey, but an ekey that expired, and that getting one until Saturday was a hush-hush affair; f) who’s this Nina character?; g) I wonder if her disturbance is to be feared…

About dontdontoperate

28 year old originally from Barrie, Ontario, Canada. H.B.Sc. from UofT with a major in chemistry and a double minor in philosophy and math. M.Sc. from UofT in physiology and neuroscience. Finished my Ph.D. in biomedical engineering at McMaster in the fall of 2013.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Miscellaneous and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

