Superstition

Oddly enough, I found an article that was linked from my own page (I guess wordpress does this automatically?).
It linked to a Time article of an interview with what I surmise is a scientist / author. The book that they are talking about is called ‘Supersense’.
Anyways, it was a nice article and I liked this phrase:
“Supersense is this human inclination that there are additional dimensions and forces and energies operating in the world. And they’re not necessarily notions of heaven and hell and angels, but they can be. What religions have done is they’ve taken these inclinations and given them a framework, given them a narrative which seems plausible to people.”
I like this phrasing since I recently heard my friend say that Religion exists because it provided an evolutionary advantage to our ancestors. I stopped him and said “well, I don’t think it’s so much religion that provided an advantage, but the many modules that evolved in our brains that leads us to superstitious belief – for which religion rides upon – that evolved due to its advantages”
A really good book that deals with this is “Religion Explained” by Pascal Boyer (where he basically defines religion as any superstitious belief held by a community) and I believe a book called “In Gods We Trust” by Scott Atran (which I have not read).

About dontdontoperate

28 year old originally from Barrie, Ontario, Canada. H.B.Sc. from UofT with a major in chemistry and a double minor in philosophy and math. M.Sc. from UofT in physiology and neuroscience. Finished my Ph.D. in biomedical engineering at McMaster in the fall of 2013.
This entry was posted in Religion, Science and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

