My burn bubbles

A year or so ago I was out drinking with some friends at the green room. The green room, being a bar that is both inviting and hip, has candles placed on every table. These candles, and the flames that they support, can lead to acts of “who can keep their hand on the candle the longest?”. I am naturally drawn to this, but I have no idea why. Perhaps I think I’m particularly good at it, and so want to show off. As you can guess, on this particular night out I decided to see how long I could keep my hand on the candle.
It led to [this]

Since then my scar has healed and I haven’t had any acts of pain endurance…until a couple nights ago. Yes, once again, and even with the same people, we were at a bar, and on the table, lo and behold, was a candle inside a cup. However, this time there was a foreseeable end to the length of time one should hold their hand over the candle; there was a end goal in mind. That end goal was to snuff the candle out by means of eliminating its store of oxygen by completely covering the top of the glass. A couple of attempts were made by a couple of brave soles, but, like the oh-so-fitting fact that a moth is drawn to the flame, so was I.
A picture is worth a bunch of words:

my burn

About dontdontoperate

28 year old originally from Barrie, Ontario, Canada. H.B.Sc. from UofT with a major in chemistry and a double minor in philosophy and math. M.Sc. from UofT in physiology and neuroscience. Finished my Ph.D. in biomedical engineering at McMaster in the fall of 2013.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

